top of page

阿菲

《重慶森林》裡的王菲並不是由王靖雯蛻變成王菲,而是毫無修飾地、赤裸裸地做回自己。所以她在戲裡叫阿菲而不是王靖雯,沒有爭妍鬥艷便贏了漂亮的一仗。

23年後的我仍然記不起是誰扮演空姐一角,但是每次來到中環扶手電梯,無論是獨個兒或是身邊有伴,腦海內總會泛起阿菲幫警察663打掃時很可愛、很默默耕耘、很阿菲的模樣。當然還有The Mamas & the Papas的《California Dreamin'》。

其實王靖雯時代的王菲已經很阿菲,其獨特風格於她親自填詞的《執迷不悔》(國語版)中已有跡可尋,這首歌就像哥哥的《我》,是她的個人宣言。

阿菲我兩鬢斑白都可認得你。

Shirley Wong didn’t transform into Faye Wong in Chungking Express, she was just embracing who she really is. I guess Wong Kar-wai named her character Faye instead of Wang Jing-wen since he knew she would come into her own as a singer-actress in the film, all artifice stripped away and revealing only her willowy alabaster calves.

I still can’t recall who played the air stewardess 23 years after the film’s release. Whether I’m alone or with company, I always think of Faye whenever I am passing through the Central escalator, located right next to the home of Cop 663 (played by Tony Leung). Faye looking adorable and inimitably like herself as she manically cleaned her dreamlover’s apartment to The Mamas & the Papas’ classic “California Dreamin’”. I especially like her pouring newly bought goldfishes into his aquarium despite teetering on the verge of fear.

Faye Wong was already very much her own person in the Wang Jing-wen era – the lyrics she wrote for her song "No Regrets" (Mandarin version) speaks volumes. Like Leslie Cheung’s "I", it is her personal statement – I would rather you hate me for what I am than love me for what I am not. Or simply, I'm unrepentantly me so take it or leave it.

Wong, whose music formed/forms a part of what I am, will always have a special place in my heart. Like “California Dreamin’” fueling Faye’s imagination.

bottom of page