top of page

Santa Jim

Good bye Santa Jim, 一路好走 。

想講我對您喺香港依個寸金尺土、分秒必争嘅城市,一直堅持追夢,並實現夢想,無論係演活聖誕老人、創作布偶或表演魔術,感到驕傲。相信您而家喺另一個世界,一個充滿布偶、氣球同玩具嘅國度,發揮您滿滿嘅愛心、創意,為大人小朋友送上歡樂、温暖。

冬冬哥哥,謝謝您陪我長大,教我寓工作於娛樂,能夠與您共事、做朋友、玩物養志,係我嘅光榮。我會乖乖哋繼續追夢,希望他朝一日可以好似您咁叻,實現夢想。

勿念。

Good bye Santa Jim, may you rest in perfect peace and harmony.

Just wanna say that I’m proud of you for dedicating your whole life to pursuing and realizing your dreams, from embodying Santa Claus to creating muppets to performing magic, here in Hong Kong where money talks, and dreams get nipped in the bud because we let them. Trust that you are now providing joy and warmth to kids (both big and small) by harnessing your love and creativity in Neverland where muppets, dolls, toys, balloons and magic are never in short supply.

Thank you Brother Winter (the name of his character in the RTHK children’s TV program we were on) for being silly with me and teaching me that work can be pleasurable. It was an honor collaborating with you and befriending you when I was a child. I’ll strive to be on your nice list by continuing the pursuit of my dreams.

Hope I’ll find my North Star too, someday.

Don’t worry about me till we meet again in Neverland.

P.S. On the back cover of the photo album in which I unearthed pics of us goofing around backstage at a musical, there’s a drawing of a trio of animals holding balloons above the words “Remembrance – Hearts of sorrow, hearts of joy/Dear friends, my poems are my voice.” Santa Jim thanks for crafting wonderful memories and poetry for children and childlike grownups across the globe through your creations (as versatile as they are prolific), and above everything else, with all of your beautiful heart.

P.S.S. The pink teddy with the polka dot ears from your studio has found a new home in mine and befriended my childhood dolls Dumbo and Garfield this week, pretty much like the aforementioned trio.

(Third photo, taken on the set of the RTHK children's TV program we were on, is courtesy of Santa Jim's IG santa_jim_chan)

bottom of page